Actually the title is a lie because I’m not entirely sure how it happened.

I was invited to a wedding a few weeks ago for Hélène’s daughter (the hospital accountant I share an office with and a good friend – pictured below, center). The wedding was in Rwanda but, a few of us on the team felt that our relationships with Hélène and her husband Fidele were important enough to make the trip. A few days before the wedding is when things got interesting. Hélène told me that I would be in the wedding. I had been to Chouchou’s (a nickname – I didn’t learn her real name until we were on the way to Rwanda) dowry ceremony but, I hadn’t met her. And now I was going to be one of her bridesmaids. This is one of the cross cultural phenomena I can’t quite put my finger on. Was I asked to be in the wedding by Chouchou, or did Hélène make the decision? Was it just because I’m a muzungu? I assume it was meant to be an honor – which it certainly was. But what was I being honored for? For being Hélène’s friend who happens to be single (a requirement of a bridesmaid)? Did I take the spot of one of Chouchou’s friends who was meant to have been in my place? Whatever the reason I am thankful that it has led to a deepening friendship for Hélène and I, and given me the chance to befriend Chouchou, whom I talk with occasionally since the wedding, though she now lives in Rwanda.

I should also mention that the wedding was absolutely lovely. After the ceremony we took bridal party photos at Lake Kivu, followed by a reception in a more intricately decorated room than I’ve ever set foot in. The festivities and multiple ceremonial events lasted well into the evening – needless to say my 24 hours in Rwanda were certainly ones to be remembered.